For Immediate Release

Nov. 21, 2017

Contact: Pro Shop – 847/475-9173 or

The Evanston Wilmette Golf Course Association has announced the election of new Board members for 2018. The election was held Nov. 16 at a meeting of the Board of Directors.

Newly elected from Evanston is David Fenn; re-elected are Steve Neumann, Tim Pretzsch and Debbie Weixl. Continuing to serve from Evanston are Carl Bova, Chris Carey, Tom Mann, Mike O’Connor, Joe Rickard, Ray Tobin, and Perry Weinberg. Re-elected to represent Wilmette on the Board are: Larry Mages and Todd Ricketts. They join current Wilmette members Kevin Kane, Karl Leinberger, Don Olson, John Powers, Rudy Van Loon and Dan Wikel. Board members serve two-year terms.

Continuing as officers of the Association through 2018 are: President Chris Carey of Evanston; Larry Mages of Wilmette, vice president; Treasurer Kevin Kane of Wilmette; and Debbie Weixl, Evanston, secretary.  The Executive Committee includes the officers and the Chair of the Grounds Committee, Steve Neumann of Evanston.

The Board has elected two new Associate Directors, Brad Drake and Sonja Nordahl of Evanston. Six Associate Directors serve two year-terms and participate in the Board, but do not vote. Current Associates include Sherry McAuliffe, David McPherson and Jason Way of Evanston and Frank Candioto of Wilmette. To expand its effort to reach out to the community, the Association also has a large number of additional volunteers who serve as advisers and bring skills and experience in marketing, financial services, business operations, golf management and youth golf programming. The Board also includes designated representatives of the City of Evanston Department of Parks, Recreation & Community Services and the Wilmette Park District.

In a special presentation made by Former President Perry Weinberg, the Board recognized Mark McCarthy of Evanston for his years of service to the golf course and Association and elected him to emeritus status.  He joins a distinguished number of emeritus members including Chuck Logan, John LoSasso, Mike Matchen, Jerry Murphy, Jack Page, Jack Richards, Nancy Ross and Greg Wilson; former officers and board members and leaders also include Bill Andersen, Jay Ryan and Jeff Stewart.  

The 19-member Board is comprised of representatives of the community surrounding the golf course known as Canal Shores that runs through Evanston and Wilmette along the north shore channel.  The Board is responsible for the management and operations of the course. More information on the course and activities can be found at or on the course’s Facebook page.

The EWGCA Board of Directors meets the third Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m., except December, in the meeting room in the American Legion Hall, second floor of the golf association building at 1030 Central Street. All members of the community are welcome to attend. Other committee and special meetings are posted on the Association website.  The Association invites all residents to join our email list to receive periodic news about the golf course. To join, contact or visit

About Canal Shores Golf Course and the Evanston Wilmette Golf Course Association – The Association, a non-profit, all-volunteer organization, was formed in 1919 to manage the operations of the 18-hole Canal Shores Golf Course. It is established as a charitable organization and qualifies as an exempt organization under Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The course runs along the North Shore Channel from Green Bay Road in Evanston to the Baha’i Temple near Wilmette Harbor. The land that comprises Canal Shores is sub-leased by the Association from the City of Evanston and Village of Wilmette, which lease property from its owner, the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Cook County. It offers programs that celebrate the game of golf, with special programs designed for families, youth and the community. Visit to learn more about the Association and the golf course.


Canal Shores Golf Course

1030 Central Street

Evanston, IL 60201

Translate »